Follow

What does "UTC" (Coordinated Universal Time) mean when displayed next to the transaction date?

When you make a donation or purchase gift cards on JustGive, the date and time of your transaction is recorded in the UTC/GMT time zone. This is the primary time standard by which the world regulates clocks and time, and is a standard time zone for internet companies to use when storing transaction data.

When compared to Eastern Standard Time (EST) or Pacific Standard Time (PST):

  • UTC is 8 hours ahead of PST. So if it is 10pm UTC, it is 2pm PST (e.g. 8 hours behind)
  • UTC is 5 hours ahead of EST. So if it is 10pm UTC, it is 5pm EST (e.g. 5 hours behind)

If you make a donation or order a gift card later in the day, the time of your transaction may have a date of the following day due to the difference between your time zone and UTC.

For example, if you are on the east coast and you place an order at 9pm EST on February 1, the time of your order on JustGive will be 2am UTC on February 2.

Note that for tax purposes, your transaction time can be converted back to your own time zone when claiming a tax deduction on your donation or gift card purchase.

For example, if your transaction date and time on JustGive is 2am on January 1, 2016, the time in EST would be 9pm on December 31, 2015, and 6pm on December 31, 2015 for PST.


Here is a handy time converter you can use to convert your Justgive transaction time from UTC to your own time zone.

A NOTE TO NONPROFITS: Payments made to your organization for donations received will be based on the UTC transaction times of the donations. For example if an east coast donor makes a donation at 9pm EST on January 31, which is 2am UTC on February 1, the donation is considered part of the payment for February's donations. This will be reflected in your online donation report.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk